Rectification of calculation for Super Group

Much thanks to readers who have brought up my error, I feel that it is essential for me to write a post to rectify the error I made.

  1. Forgot to disable price-adjustment for bonus issue
  2. Took latest price to calculate the old yield

Due to the bonus issue, I forgot to change my chart settings to disable price-adjustment settings for Bonus Issue. (By default it is enabled)

Enabled:

chart (9)

Disabled:chart (11)

As you can see, the failure to disable price adjustment would mean miscalculating the yield of the stock if I were to attempt to calculate the old yield at whichever point in time in the past.

I haven’t had experience dealing with companies that do bonus issue. It’s definitely a new lesson for me and I’ll keep it in mind from now! (Hopefully it doesn’t happen again)

I remain that dividend distribution for 2015 to be about 0.05 which translates into 4.36% based on current price of 1.145.

Leave a Reply

