It’s tough, but it’ll be worth it.

It’s a really short weekend for me and I don’t have much time to do any research. However, I still want to journal down a little something about what I went through since the start of 2015.

The new year indeed was a new beginning for me in army. As some of you have already known, I’m in commando and one of the things that commandos have to do is to jump off the aircraft. 2 Jan marked the start of my Airborne course and that is when I found out my Saturdays are all going to be burnt. Booking out only at 6pm.
I’m writing this just after I booked out and I thought I should share a little something about how I felt.

Shag. I was never so drained out from falling, running with a parachute on my back, wearing a parachute for prolonged periods of time. The weight and the metal parts of the parachute harness hurts a lot! Everywhere we went, we ran. The day never felt so long before! It’ll be 2 weeks of intensive training before I head over to Taiwan to do my live jumps and finally get to put on that silver wings upon my chest. A hallmark of being a commando. This is really just the beginning before things get even tougher.. But at the end of it all, when I look back, it will be worth it! That experience to jump off a plane with no one to help you except yourself, definitely is a once in a lifetime experience and an experience worth talking about in years to come.

As I reflect upon the whole day, I’m reminded about how investing is similar. At the beginning, investing is really tough and can get so draining just to learn the basics and gain that fundamental knowledge. Maybe it won’t be physically shag, but mentally it’s a torture! Learning can and should be fun, and I believe investing can be something fun and an experience worth going through.

I believe just like jumping off a plane at 1000ft, the experience will be similar as investing. Scary at first, but rewarding at the end. Day 1 of practical training is over and I have 12 more days to go. I really don’t know if I have the strength to go through this, but I will find that strength. As long as I don’t give up and give my 100% in the training, I will overcome!

I believe when it comes to investing, it’s the same. Just give it your 100% in learning no matter how tiring and hard it is to overcome. Take the first step, jump out of the plane, or try your hands on investing. Although in investing it’s easier since you can take small steps to test water. There’s no testing in Airborne. Finally I end off with this quite, “It’s the experiences in life that makes life worth living!”

P.s I’m still scared as shit for the jump in 2 weeks time.

3 thoughts on “It’s tough, but it’ll be worth it.

  1. Hi Aloysius,

    You are a brave soul. I’m scared of heights and I don’t want to imagine myself looking down at 1000ft. The first step is definitely the hardest and I’m sure you are not alone. Hopefully by sharing you are feeling less anxious now.

    Taiwan was one of the highlights in my NSF life and I’m sure you will enjoy it. Have an awesome year ahead!

    Like

    1. Haha thanks! Despite being in a week into the training, it’s still a challenge when I’m asked to jump off from any height haha! Just gonna look up and trust my parachute to do its job! Indeed, it’s the hardest step to take and I have my band of brothers with me! 🙂

      Great to hear that you had a great experience in Taiwan! Have an awesome year ahead as well! 🙂

      Like

  2. thank you for serving the nation. i spent my time in Hendon as well, but not as a commando, (i was the office rat writing purchase requisition reports to MINDEF to buy the parachutes, and contacting suppliers to send me quotes on what to buy for our boys) and i have a lot of respect for you guys for facing the dangers you willingly put yourselves through for the country. when you go to university, your commando status could be quite attractive to girls. ha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

