Revelation On Not Using Social Medias

As some of you may know, I’m away in Taiwan and in this past 3 weeks, I have made a startling revelation and I think many could benefit or even try it out for themselves to see if it’s true.

What happened

This whole event wouldn’t have started had I not burst the 2gb data in my SIM card in 1 day. Yes, you read it right, 2gb in 1 day.. What happened was I didn’t activate the SIM card through my subscriber and I ended up using the international data which apparently that is how fast it ate up my 350NT worth of data.

So I called the subscriber, FarEasTone, and they were nice enough to give me 1gb to use. This meant I had to ration 1gb for the next 29 days. Initially I figured 2gb would have been just nice for my whole trip since I usually use about 2-3gb. But 1gb for a month? Guess I’ll have to step up my game and be up for the challenge! The first thing I did was to cut back dramatically on all my social medias – Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Youtube, etc. After the first week, I just completely stopped using them because they were taking up way too much data and too quickly. I had to save some for my R&R!

So for the past 2 weeks I have been reading, way more than I usually do. Thank God for Kindle! Best purchase ever! Haha! I finished 2 books and have started on my 3rd book now and already halfway through. The knowledge and wisdom I received through reading was infinitely more beneficial than scrolling through my social medias. I doubt I would have learnt so much so quickly if not for this “unfortunate” event.

So this leads me to think, how many hours in a day are we putting to “waste”, when we could have learnt so much more through reading stuffs that matter to you that you can learn from? Is it really true that “there’s not enough time”? This experience taught me that 2 hours of reading is infinitely more beneficial than 2 hours of surfing Facebook or YouTube, etc. Good occassional source of entertainment, but I definitely think that in terms of value-adding to enrich myself, reading self-help or financial related books is still better.

Perhaps you could try this, although you’re luckier that you have the option of not having to ration as much as you do like me. (But I’m thankful for this experience!) Cut your social media by half of even fully for the true experience and you’ll realise that you don’t really feel you lose out much not using it and use the time to pursue your interest.

You’ll be amazed, I promise. 

I know there are people who have stopped using social media altogether or have also similar experiences as I am going through right now. Feel free to leave a comment and share your experiences with other readers! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Revelation On Not Using Social Medias

  1. Agree with you. Though I won’t cut my social media because I don’t think I spend a lot of time in it. Actually it’s saturated with market news, general news and interesting articles for my fb feeds. I guess it’s a matter of tweaking the feeds to get what you want. I find that fb is quite a good source for information.

    But nothing beats actual reading. Reading articles and blogs are different from reading a book. I challenge you to read 52 books a year – that’s 1 book a week. That will really force you to find the extra bit of time in between activities to squeeze in some reading time. Imagine if you just increase your knowledge by 10% per year by just reading more than the rest. Over time, this knowledge compounds and you’ll have a wealth of information at your fingertips for you to synthesize and find new links.

    Like

    1. Oh yes I agree, it’s about tweaking your fb feeds! Too often my feeds are filled with random videos posted by my friends haha!
      Wow that’s a challenge I’ll put myself up to! Although I’m not sure if I’ll complete one a week, but I will give it a try! Yes, that’s what I’m trying to do! Compound my knowledge! Do you have any books that are “Must read” to suggest? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

